12 days ago I did my best to be brave. I did something that scared me…. I battled my mental dragons and took action. 

I wish I could say all worked out and is well. However the result turned out to not be what I had wanted. Not what I had planned for. In fact I had planed for anything and everything …. apart from what actually happened. I can not change that. 

Being brave wasn’t easy. I put myself on the line. My emotions my feelings. Although I did my best; my bravery wasn’t enough. 

So what do you do then? When bravery isn’t enough? When your best doesn’t bring results? Take stock. I took stock of all the amazing people I have and things I have experienced. It’s in these wonderful things that I find strength. 
I thought about my amazing husband, our lovely dog, our wonderful home. I also went and cuddled them both took a moment to appreciate them. I flicked through my instagram and pictures on my phone soaking up all the happy memories captured there. 

I chatted to my husband… I cried. I reached out to family members … I cried. But talking to them helped. Someone once told me that we only cry when pain isn’t life treating… whether it’s true or not I like the idea. 

Sometimes things don’t workout the way you want them to, or even the way you anticipated they would. The scenarios we build in our heads have no reflection on reality; but never let that stop you being brave. When bravery isn’t enough look to the ones that love you.
Keep fighting those mental dragons and most of all be as brave as you can be. It’s in those moments of bravery that we grow. Even when it goes wrong.

“Take chances, make mistakes. That’s how you grow. Pain nourishes your courage. You have to fail in order to practice being brave.” Mary Tyler Moore

“I love those who can smile in trouble, who can gather strength from distress.” Leonardo da Vinci

